Kyphi Day 4- Myrrh

FINALLY!  Myrrh is not at all endangered.  So I bought a LOT of it.  I like myrrh quite a lot, too, because it has so many associations with feminine and lunar energies.  It’s also mostly associated with the water element, and some earth.  Incense-Making.com describes the scent as “deep, rich, warm, earthy, bitter, balsamic, slightly sweet and spicy, herbaceous“.  Here is MirthAndReverence’s video on Day 4- Myrrh.

Myrrh was one of the luxury items that had to ...

Myrrh was one of the luxury items that had to pass through the Nabatean territory to be traded elsewhere. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

To be honest, I didn’t buy true myrrh.  I bought something called ‘sweet myrrh’.  I don’t know what I was thinking, but there was a listing for myrrh, and a listing for sweet myrrh (also called opoponax).  I just chose the one called sweet myrrh and ordered a pound of it.  Actually, the energies are very similar, and opoponax is a relative of true myrrh.  It’s often used by people who want myrrh, but without so much of the bitterness.  So I’m using this in my kyphi pretty confidently.

Foliage of myrrh (Commiphora sp.)

Foliage of myrrh (Commiphora sp.) (Photo credit: Joel Abroad)

I couldn’t find a video on how myrrh is harvested or grown, but I did find this video on the barest basics of burning granular incense on a charcoal.  I love her altar and her Hecate statue.

Enhanced by Zemanta

Leave a comment